Washington Wolves History

The Washington Red Coats in 1976

The Washington Red Coats in 1976


The Washington Women’s Ice Hockey club was founded in 1975. The fledgling team was formed from just 10 skaters from the Washington, D.C. area. (Read an article about the team published in the Washington Post in 1976!)

The team joined the Mid-Atlantic Women’s Hockey League (MAWHL) and started playing up and down the Eastern Seaboard — facing off against the Delaware Bobcats and the Philadelphia Ice-Centennials.

A local company — Redcoats, Inc. — sponsored the club and the team took the name the Red Coats for the next 15 years.

In 1979, the first women’s hockey national championships were held in Buffalo, N.Y. The very next year, The Redcoats won the MAWHL South Division championship.The team rented a bus with members of the Delaware Phoenix, and drove to Lake Placid, N.Y. to compete in the Senior B division of the National Championship tournament.

Over the next few years, The Redcoats won multiple MAWHL regular season and playoff championships, and skated in several more National Championship tournaments.

In 1994, the club changed its name to The Washington Wolves and adopted white and blue as their team colors.

In 1997, the Wolves fielded a second team, which competed in the B division of MAWHL. In 2000, the Wolves fielded a team for the C division of MAWHL. In 2005, the B team disbanded. The Wolves now have two teams playing in MAWHL at the Senior C and Senior D divisions.